crown chakra


Sanskrit Name: Sahasrara
(meaning ‘thousandfold‘)

Location: Top of the head

Color: Violet

Element: White Light

Function: Union

Inner State: Bliss

Glands: Pineal gland

Body parts: Top of the head, the brain and the entire nervous system.

Sense: Sense of empathy, unity

Gems and Minerals: Diamond, quartz crystal

Malfunction: Alienation, depression, lack of grounding, lack of inspiration (because you’re disconnected from your spiritual source.)

To Awaken and Balance: Meditation, guided visualization, energy work.

Also known as ‘Cosmic Consciousness Center‘- “I AM” Center.

The challenge of the seventh chakra is to tune into and surrender to divine consciousness. The natural feeling or experience that occurs is oneness, bliss, purity and emptiness beyond time and space.

The essence power is consciousness or enlightenment. The opening of the crown chakra moves us beyond the three dimensional reality of the physical senses and form, beliefs and thoughts. We perceive, connect and merge with and are able to utilize infinite energies. The unknown becomes known. We find transcendental meaning to life.

The crown chakra represents that part of our consciousness concerned with perceptions of unity or separation. It’s the level of the soul.

When one experiences a sense of separation from God, he closes the crown chakra and experience a sense of isolation and aloneness, as if they are in a shell, and having difficulty with feeling contact with those around them. Thought processes tend to justify the sense of aloneness.

It’s element is ‘Inner Light‘, which is what one experiences when he is in the deepest part of his being, as a point of consciousness glowing with intelligence. Metaphysically, this is considered the most subtle element of which the entire physical universe is created. Also called ‘White Light‘.